Home 2018-06-26T10:10:25+00:00

Welcome to Kenya Water Towers Agency

The Kenya Water Towers Agency is a State Corporation under the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources. It was established in 2012 vide Kenya Gazette Supplement No: 27, Legal Notice no: 27 on 20th April, 2012.

The Government recognized the threat to Mau and other Water Towers in 2008 formed a Task Force on the conservation of the Mau Forests Complex which included KFS, KWS, WRMA and key Ministries. The Taskforce’s responsibility was to study and make recommendations on the immediate, short- and long-term options for restoring the entire Mau Forest Complex and other water towers for the present and future generations.

KWTA has taken an integrated ecosystem approach bringing on board institutions, communities, development partners and all relevant stakeholders. At the time of gazettement of KWTA, the mandate of the Agency was mainly over 18 water towers namely; Aberdares Range, Cherangani Hills, Chulyu Hills, Huri Hills, Kirisia Hills, Loita Hills, Marmanet Forest, Mathews Range, Mau Forest Complex, Mount Elgon, Mount Kenya, Mount Kipipiri, Mount Kulal, Mount Marsabit, Mount Njiru, Ndotos, Nyambene Hills, and Shimba Hills.

Latest News

Our Partners and Stakeholders